Sockies!

Or booties, whatever you want to call them. It seems I am always losing my socks, those thin stretchy ankle socks with all the cute designs. I can only imagine how many of those thin flimsy baby socks I would lose when Baby gets here. Then there is the whole baby’s foot growing thing. Fun!

So in the theme of do it yourself, I am doing just that! These cute little sockies take about day to make if you don’t get distracted. I looked at a ton of patterns, each with its own twist but decided I would just work with the basic sock layout because 1) I’m not picky and 2) I doubt my baby is either so long as his feets are warm.

There are plenty of sites that show patterns using super soft mureno wool. I would love to use something of that quality but let’s be serious, baby is going to out grow his socks in a few months. So instead I use a brand called Caron (I think that’s the brand, I threw away the label) that you can get at the local Walmart. It’s softer than that Red Heart crap (sorry red heart but your stuff feels like a burlap sack), and is fantastically affordable.

Ok so ingredients!
-A set of size 3 or 4 double pointed needles (at least three, but depending on your knitting style you might opt for four)

-Yarn! Whatever feels the softest. Medium worsted. Some people put exactly how many yards it takes per sock. I haven’t counted, and I probably won’t since they’re just baby socks. But if you’re extra unsure, you can’t go wrong with 100 yards. Unless your baby is an elephant.*

*Disclaimer. I am not calling anyone’s baby fat. I mean a literal elephant.*

-Yarn Needle. Or darning needle? You will need it to sew up the toe.

-Your babies foot measurements. In my case my baby isn’t out yet so I’m eyeballing it. I don’t make my stitches super tight, so there’s a bit of stretch, which will help extend the life of your sockie. Assume these instructions are sized for a newborn.

*disclaimer. I am not an expert knitter. Please don’t get upset if my instructions aren’t professional. I will try to be as clear as possible. If you have questions, ask!*

Gauge: 6 stitches = 1″

Cast on 12 stitches onto two needles. (6 on each)
Knit all stitches (keep stitches divided evenly between the two needles from this point)
Knit one, add a stitch, knit until there is one stitch left on the first needle, add a stitch, knit one. This will make 8 stitches on the first needle. Now do the exact same thing on the second needle, thus completing the round.

Continue this method until there are 24 stitches total, 12 on each needle. Now keep knitting until you’re ready to start the heel, however long you want it. I do 12 rows.

Now we are ready to do the heel. You will be working on one side from this point.

Knit until there is one stitch left
Wrap and turn
Purl until there is one stitch left
Wrap and turn
Knit until there are 2 stitches left
Wrap and turn
Purl until there are 2 stitches left
Wrap and turn
Knit until there are 3 stitches left
Wrap and turn
Purl until there are 3 stitches left
Wrap and turn
Knit until there are 2 stitches left
Wrap and turn
Purl until there are 2 stitches left
Wrap and turn
Knit until there is one stitch left
Wrap and turn
Purl until there is one stitch left
Wrap and turn

Now the heel is complete, begin working on the ankle. If your baby is bigger, consider doing ribbing (knit 2 purl 2) until you reach the desired length (I did about 15 rows). Since my stitches aren’t super tight I just knit all the way around. Now this is the super important part. You want your last rows stitches to be really loose so you have a bit of stretch when you bind off. Bind off and cut the yarn leaving about 6″. Sew in the tail with the yarn needle, then sew up the toe. Voila! Sockie! Rinse and repeat for a pair.

Like I said, easy basic baby sock. If you don’t want to lose your sock to the washer or risk unraveling you can hand wash and lay out on a towel to dry. If you aren’t that domestic then throw them in a pillowcase, tie off the top wash in cold on the gentle cycle. Tip: if you’re new to knitting, and having trouble with the terms the most helpful resource I have found is to simply google the term and read through the results.

20140217-080432.jpg

Leave a Reply

