Chicken Tortilla Soup in the Crockpot

I have shamelessly raided my in-law’s pantry for food that I can cook in the crockpot. Today is the third day in our house, and we are lacking a range among many other household appliances and furniture. This gives me the opportunity for ingenuity!

As I browse through different recipes online, I don’t actually see anything that allows me to use a crockpot in the way they were designed for (basically dump everything in and walk away). Instead the recipes I see want me to use my stove (which I don’t have at the moment). So I am creating my own!

Ingredients:
4 cups Chicken broth (1 box)
1 cup of milk
3 tbsp butter
1/2 c flour
Chicken breasts (2)
1 can Enchilada sauce or taco sauce
1 can Black beans (drained and rinsed)
1 can Rotel
1 Can Corn (drained)
1 Diced Bell Pepper
1 Diced Onion

Pour 3 cups of broth in the croc pot. Use the fourth to create a slurry with the flour in a separate bowl. Whisk until smooth, then mix into the crockpot a little at a time. Add the milk, butter, and enchilada (or taco) sauce

Add the chicken (dice if you prefer of shred when it’s cooked), diced bell pepper and onion, drained corn, and drained and rinsed black beans.

Next, add the Rotel. I didn’t drain it, the juices have a lot of flavor. I use minimal spices because I think there’s plenty of them already in the enchilada sauce and rotel. You can always salt and pepper to taste when it’s done.

Cook on high 3-4 hours. I topped mine with tortilla chips, and cheese. I spaced and forgot the avocado at the store, I would have put it on top too. Pick whichever kind of cheese appeals to you. Enjoy!

An afterthought. If you want a creamier soup, throw in a pack of cream cheese.

20140225-165859.jpg

Leave a Reply

