Healthy AND Delicious!? Capellini Pomodoro

I’m doing my very first link up, which is where a bunch of bloggers post together or something. Not clear on the details here, but hopefully more people will get to see what I write, which is good because this dish is delish! And I’m pretty excited to see what kinds of recipes other bloggers have going on, I’m a foodie. I’m quite enjoying writing/blogging by the way. I’m sorry if I haven’t done it enough here recently, I have no excuse. None. I’m a lazy housecat and if I feel like bumming on the couch all day, that’s probably what’s going to happen. Until baby gets here that is.

Any who, the theme of this bloggy linkup get together is healthy foods. I wracked my brain I really did, because at the moment all I want are carbs and cheese. Must be the pregnancy (who am I kidding I always want carbs and cheese). Anyway, during my brief stint at Olive Garden as a waitress (when I first found out I was preggo), I was able to cozy up with their “lighter fare” menu. And the cheapest, easiest dish on there has, get this, like 500 calories. Ok so maybe that SOUNDS like a lot. But this is Olive Garden, when you’re here you’re family. And we all know mama puts lots of food on our plates. So just assume that the calorie count is lower because your portion won’t exactly be large enough for leftovers. Or go for a run after, carbs are good for energy. The point is you can have a delicious pasta dish without the extreme guilt of throwing down 1500 cals on some Fettuccini Alfredo. And it’s really easy to make! Here’s how:

‘Gridients
Three Cloves of Garlic-minced
Fresh Basil Leaves-minced
Three to Four Medium Tomatoes- peeled and diced
1/3 cup Olive Oil
12oz cooked Angel Hair Pasta
3 oz. Grated Parmesan Cheese- fresh is best
S&P To Taste – fresh ground pepper is always the better choice here guys

Heat your olive oil on medium heat and add the minced garlic. Cook through and add the tomatoes, stirring occasionally until they are warm. Take off the heat and add your basil and half the Parmesan cheese. Toss in your Angel Hair, and top with the rest of the cheese. Serve immediately.
This feeds about four people, but the measurements can be easily changed to accommodate more or less people. (Or bigger or smaller appetites). I totally snuck away with a lot of great recipes from the OG, but I think it is safe to say this is the most healthy filling one. Enjoy!

Here’s the link to the other yummy healthy posts too

20140420-124900.jpg

Leave a Reply

