Calming the Fuss and Stopping the Fit

Tuck is only two months old but he has already learned that I’m definitely NOT one of those moms that will let him cry it out. If you can tolerate the crying then that’s awesome. Sometimes a tired baby will just cry himself to sleep. But I just can’t. I hate it. It’s not that it’s annoying, it’s that I know he’s upset and I want to fix it. #supermomsyndrome. When he’s in the mood to grump (usually because he’s tired or overstimulated) he sure as heck let’s me know. And of course I come running. It used to be his swing was enough to calm the storm. If that didn’t work a walk outside would. Or maybe he wants to turn around and look at the world when I hold him. (He loves to look at things especially the coat rack. Weird.)
But what am I supposed to do when he has absolutely had ENOUGH of his car seat, yet we aren’t home yet? Well sit him in my lap and keep driving of course. Kidding. Pls don’t call cops I swear I don’t do this. Or what about when he’s so tired all he wants to do is fuss and if he hears “The Bear Went Over The Mountain” omg he’s going to poop the stinkiest diaper for payback? Seriously wHat was I supposed to do? What could possibly get this baby to quit fussing?

An app.

I’m serious.

Take your smartphone using butt to the AppStore/Playstore. Type in Relax Melodies (it’s by ipnosoft). Download it. Open it up and create your background noise. Seriously they have a ton of sounds like rain, waves, thunderstorm, and even grandfather clock. It’s soothing and repetitive. You can even layer multiple sounds on top of each other and adjust each individual volume. Tucks favorite is grandfather clock and heavy rain. Find one that works for your kid and turn that sucker up!

The only downside is the battery drainage, but it’s a small price to pay for a piece of instant shut up pie.

I love living in this era. Raising kids is way easier in my opinion. Now don’t get me wrong, gas powered strollers probably looked cool in the 50’s (I think it was the 50’s, you had to wear a gas mask and the stroller was a boxed in steel contraption.). I don’t even care that maybe it makes me a bit lazy, or that I’m not struggling through raising a kid like the many centuries of women before me (except everyone who had nannys, I’m so jelly).

Technology is convenient and in the words of Willy Wonka “if God had wanted us to walk why did he create roller skates?” So there. 😛

Super big shoutout to my awesome Aunt Angie for showing me the app. Also HAPPY BIRTHDAY ANGIE!!!

3 thoughts on “Calming the Fuss and Stopping the Fit

  1. Pam says:

    Great read, Kat! And you’re right, it is earlier for moms today, but they have to search and implement those niceties. You are doing Mom, right!

Leave a Reply

