How I Met Your Father- A Memoir For My Tucker

Sweet baby I love you. And I love your daddy too. No matter what happens I want you to know that you will be loved so so much.

Your daddy and I have been married for nearly four years. In that time we have fought, made up, cried, laughed, loved, and maybe even hated a bit. But that’s ok because we will continue to learn each other and grow closer. And as long as I have you and daddy, my family will be complete.

I met your daddy when I was just a little girl, he came to my school when I was ten years old. When I was in the seventh grade I had a science class with him. The teacher was teaching about fire. Your daddy said “if you spill gasoline on your shoe and it catches fire, running will make it worse”. I knew he was speaking from experience. In that moment I knew I loved him. (Tucker don’t play with fire, just because daddy did it doesn’t make it ok).

When I was a teenager daddy asked me to be his girlfriend. But then he moved away to Oklahoma. The day he left he asked for a hug. And I didn’t hug him. I was angry he was going. I didn’t want him to leave. We were just kids with no control over things. It wasn’t fair. I broke your daddy’s heart that day.

But a few years later I came up to Oklahoma. My good friend Cassy drove me as soon as college let out for the summer. I saw your daddy. I knew I loved him. That evening, as I was getting ready to sleep on your grandmas couch, your daddy and I hugged. He hugged me so hard, and when I went to pull away he hugged harder. He didn’t have to say anything. I knew he loved me. I knew he needed me. I decided to stay and be with your daddy.

Sometimes when I’m mad at daddy, I think about that hug and it reminds me of how much your daddy loves me. It doesn’t matter what we say or do. We both know the truth. We both know that we will always love each other no matter what.

I love you Tucker, just as much as I love your daddy.

20140713-110344-39824697.jpg

Leave a Reply

